« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published April 13 2009

F-M Symphony changes final concert lineup

The final concert of the Fargo-Moorhead Symphonies Masterworks season is getting an overhaul.

Instead of taking on Hector Berlioz’s “Requiem” at its April 25 and 26 concerts, as had been planned, the orchestra will perform a number of popular pieces as part of a community celebration concert.

Plus, tickets to the concert will be free.

Those who have already purchased tickets and season ticket holders will be in reserved, premier seating.

Among the pieces to be performed are the finale of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony, the “Star Wars” finale, the “William Tell Overture,” the Hallelujah Chorus from “Messiah” and Tchaikovsky’s “1812 Overture.”

The orchestra had planned what Executive Director Linda Coates describes as a “once-in-a-lifetime performance of a rarely performed masterpiece.”

“Unfortunately, our once-in-a-lifetime concert was trumped by a once-in-a-lifetime flood,” Coates wrote in an e-mail.

“With 20,000 evacuated students and musicians, others who were exhausted from flood-fighting, a severely shortened choral rehearsal schedule – not to mention the wildly inappropriately themed ‘Requiem’ in the face of a near-death experience our community just endured – we decided we were actually looking at the perfect opportunity for an unforgettable community celebration.”

The concerts will be at the Gate City Bank Theatre at the Fargodome.

Tickets will be available beginning Wednesday at Hornbacher’s locations.

Call (218) 233-8397 for more information.