« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published January 11 2009


MAKING THE GRADE: The following area students were named to the fall 2008 dean’s list at Dickinson (N.D.) State University: Tanya Sabinash, Jamestown, N.D.; Megan Baxter, Oakes, N.D.; and Erin Huber, West Fargo.

The following area students were named to the fall dean’s list at Northland Community and Technical College, Thief River Falls, Minn.: Gina Cox and Stacia Sytsma, Barnesville, Minn.; Laura Atilano, Climax, Minn.; Katheryn Chaput, Lindsay Cournia and Amy Lubarski, Crookston, Minn.; Katie Svidal, Devils Lake, N.D.; Ryan Oppegaard, Erksine, Minn.; Diana Dawson, Fargo; Cassandra Rondorf, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Brittany Hathorn, Fertile, Minn.; Richard Winkler, Fosston, Minn.; Chad Taylor, Hatton, N.D.; Aaron Melland, Hoople, N.D.; Ann Cichos and Stephanie Elhard, Jamestown, N.D.; Chassy Tauberman, Mentor, Minn.; Amber Pederson, Valley City, N.D.; Kelly Murray, Waubun, Minn.; Jarad Tandberg, West Fargo. Students named to the dean’s list have attained a grade point average of 3.5 to 3.74. These students were named to the president’s list for achieving a grade point average of 3.75 to 4.0: Andrew Wagner, Ada, Minn.; Adam Rude, Callaway, Minn.; Heidi Landby, Christopher Morlan, Bethany Nephew and Nicole Sperling, Crookston, Minn.; Danielle Anderson, Cummings, N.D.; Holly Wheeler, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Brent Greening, Emilee Soper and Maria Wolf, Devils Lake, N.D.; Alison Eisenbeis, Fargo; Megan Monson, Fertile; Melissa Blair, Colleen Peterson, Brian Tinkham and Ross Van Eps, Fisher, Minn.; Jodi Lolan and Justin Roue, Fosston, Minn.; Caleb Halverson, Frazee, Minn.; Loretta Visser, Gary, Minn.; Andrea Alland, Hawley, Minn.; Jessica Vanderplaats, Hendrum, Minn.; Jacob Hendricks, Hitterdal, Minn.; Brittany Hemmingsen, Heather Poling and Dakota Renfrow, Larimore, N.D.; Lois Olson, Mahnomen, Minn.; Wendy Peterson, Northwood, N.D.; Jonathan Dobmeier, Kristi Newland and Mavrik Peterson, Thompson, N.D.; Melanie Anderson, Twin Valley, Minn.; Amanda Thompson, Ulen, Minn.; and Patrick Wilkie, Wahpeton, N.D.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Southwest Minnesota State University, Marshall: Andrea Gronbeck, Battle Lake, Minn., Taylor Huseby, Pelican Rapids, Minn., Kimberley Hoppe, Elbow Lake, Minn., and Cari Zitzow, Moorhead. Gronbeck and Huseby were given high honors for achieving a grade point average between 3.8 and 4.0.

GRADUATES: The following area students graduated Dec. 13 from South Dakota State University, Brookings (* denotes cum laude): Rebecca Dahl, Fargo; Charles Senne, Lisbon, N.D.; * Nicole Lillis, Perham, Minn.; and Molly Welch, Dilworth.

Matthew Mindeman has earned a master of music degree in viola performance from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, Bloomington. He continues to attend the school and plans to earn his performer’s diploma degree by 2010. Mindeman is a graduate of Fargo South High School and Concordia College.

VALLEY TIES: Katie Harris, 19, Ihry, Colo., has been selected to compete in the 2009 International Federation of Sleddog Sports Winter World Championships Jan. 17-25 in Quebec, Canada. Her grandfather, the late James D. Ployhar of Fargo, was co-producer of the movie “Iron Will,” which was about a young man who enters a cross-country dogsled race in order to save his family’s land after the sudden death of his father.

NEWS FROM THE CABBAGE PATCH: Jeremy and Cindy Riddle, Princeton, Minn., welcomed a daughter, Ainsley, born Dec. 26, 2008, at Fairview Northland Medical Center, Princeton. Grandparents are Al and Maureen Riddle, Fargo, and Mary Wilson, Mitchell, S.D. Great-grandmother is Dorothy Riddle, Moorhead.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional column dedicated to getting information about local people into The Forum, even though that information wouldn’t necessarily command big headlines. Still, it is news and information about real people from our communities and, consequently, news of interest to some of our readers. To submit information for “Namedroppers,” contact Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or by e-mail at awieck@forumcomm.com.